Can you recommend a 3D CAD program for the beginner?

I’ve got a few designs in my head and I’d like to put them down on “paper”, or 3D
CAD file, I should say.

Can you recommend a good 3D CAD program for the beginner?

Thanks a lot.

I’m a mechanical design consultant here and think you need to ask yourself (and tell us :slight_smile: ) a few questions. Are you looking for something that you can model ideas up in and then send them out for quotes/evaluation in the manner of a budding inventor? Or are you just wanting to be able to take something you thought up and throw it on the computer screen and spin it around?

Are you talking about houseplans, landscape designs, consumer goods?

-rainy

It really depends if you want to spend actual money or not. Given your beginner’s requirements, I’ll assume not. If you’re not too bothered about precise dimensioning, and are more after a quick 3D prototyping sort of thing, you could do a lot worse than Sketchup, a sort of freehand 3D modelling package acquired by Google a year or so ago. There’s a free version available for download. Run through the tutorials, it’s really quite good fun to use. It is also possible to dimension things accurately, it’s just a bit of a pain in the butt. Unfortunately you’ll need the full version to export models to common formats such as VRML and AutoCAD, and to produce layout-style drawings, but for a free package it’s certainly not a bad starting place. The full version is about 500 bucks, but that’s still cheap for CAD software.