Canadian law question: police searches

In this thread and others I’ve read on the board about police asking to search one’s home, car, etc. the advice is to never allow the police to search the place without a warrant. I’m wondering if this is good advice to follow if confronted by the same situation in Canada? Not that I have anything to hide, of course :wink:
Just curious since this kind of thread comes up from time to time, but always in the context of US law.

I assume it must be similar in Canada, but I’m also curious about this, so I will bump this thread.

That is also the advice a Canadian lawyer would give you. I am not a lawyer.

I agree, always decline the police search. ALWAYS. You also havethe right to remoain silent. Always remain silent and never allow any police to search anything. Always decline the search at point blank range.

However, your right to having counsel present during interrogations isn’t quite as absolute as it is south of the border. So, you need to be even more stubborn about keeping silent up here.

While technically correct, this is too broad an answer. Your reasonable expectation of privacy right is dictated by the Charter (s. 8), but and what police can and cannot do as regards that right has been shaped by many cases–see, for example, R. v. Collins [1987] 1 S.C.R., 1987 SCC 11 and R. v. Stillman [1997] 1 S.C.R. 607, 1997 SCC 32, both of whose principles were further shaped (in some instances, through overturning) by R. v. Grant 2009 SCC 32. A full discussion of the principles and the law surrounding police searches (and attendant actions, such as investigative detention), is too big to get into here; but I will say that if police really do have a reasonable suspicion for a search, they can typically get a warrant immediately by phone: a telewarrant. At which point, you can no longer decline the search.