Car buying basics

I’ve never owned my own car. My parents have always supplied me with wheels, but I’m 22 now, I make a decent living, and the free ride has come to an abrupt halt. I’m planning on leasing my first car in the next few weeks to months. I’m looking at used cars and SUV’s in the $20,000 range. Right now I’ve got my eye on a 2001 Nissan Pathfinder LE. Is it possible to keep my monthly payments below $350 for a 24 month term?

Basically, I’m extremely new to this… What are the nuts and bolts of buying a car, particularly a used car?

Autotrader.com has many excellent research guides and pricing information. There are also links to finance sites that will be glad to price things out for you.

Many other car sites do also.

Surf the web, see what’s out there. Look in your local paper – are those cars being advertised at those leasing rates?

Also, you can generally only lease a new car, not a used car.

Financing a $20,000 car for 24 months will indeed cost more than $350/month. There are lots of finance calculators available on the web, so maybe you should mess around with one to see what your comfortable with.

FYI, $350/month for 24 months buys you somewhere around $7500 worth of car. $350/month for 60 months will get you around $17,000. So, something’s gotta change if you really want that Pathfinder.

• Do not trust the nice man at the car lot. His job is to extract your money, and as much of it as possible. NOTHING he explains or promises matters, unless it’s in writing.
  • Used is good. A major part of depreciation takes place in a very short time, so a car that is 2 or 3 or 4 years old is a much better deal than a new one.
  • For best return on investment plan on driving the car ‘till the wheels fall off.