Career advice - pick one?

So, Dopers, I ask that age old question. What should I do for a living? I originally went into teaching, but before I finished my first year of college I hated the way I had to spend my time in a kindergarten classroom (yes, I would even student teach in that room) to be certified to teach grades 7-12. I also wanted to finish my BA because I had a few ideas about what to do regardless of what my BA was in, which included graduate school.

So Dopers, what should I do? I don’t want to be in school for any more than a Master’s once I finish this degree (a BA in English), and I will have a job through the Master’s. I’m not saying that I will pick whatever is mentioned here, I’m just looking for ideas other than education (I was raised in a family of 3 teachers and a nurse - I’m the only career-less one).

So far, these are the things I have considered:

Being a mailman: Pros - outside, exercise at work, job security. Cons - limited job market, work outside in snow and rain.

Working at the library: this was one of my Master’s ideas, an MLS, which I am very interested in. I could work at a college or public library, and do more than just shelve books. The only guy with this degree I know is a director of a county library system in Ohio.

Going into education anyways: not my first choice, but depending on ODE requirements, I would have a job and get to teach kids (this would probably involve ODE alternative license and a M.Ed. - but that is irrelevant.)

So dopers, pick me a career…
I’m looking for anything - suggest what you think might be a fun job, suggest the same thing you do, I just want options…

Brendon Small

:smack:

I thought I was in IMHO. Sorry MPSIMS - did not mean for this thread to come here.

Would a kindly mod please kick me over to IMHO. Thank you…

I guess my job shouldn’t be remembering what forum I am in, huh?

Brendon Small

Since it is Nurse’s Week…