Cashiers, don't ask for my phone number!

At Babies R Us when you go to check out the cashiers always ask for your phone number.

And the most amazing thing to me is that people actually give it to them!

I always stare at them and just say “no.”

Why should I publically call out my personal informaiton for everyone in line to hear? Why is it the store’s business anyway?

It’s just to put you on a mailing list and track your purchases. Creepy.

If everyone refused to give theri phone numbers, thiss obnoxious practice would stop.

What other stores do this?

Radio Shack. I just always tell them (555) 555-5555.

I’ve got my phone number on my checks. Whenever they ask me for a second one (happens every month or so), I just make one up.

Nobody’s ever called me, by the way, and I’ve been bouncing checks for 20 years.

Tuesday Morning, Radio Shack and Ikea ask for my telephone number. I don’t mind giving it to them because I don’t answer my telephone if the number says Out of Area on the caller id box.

I figure the poor cashier doesn’t want to ask me for it anyway so why make them feel worse by telling them no?

I use a random area code and 555-1212. It’s only the information, and by using different area codes I figure I’m messing with their demographics, at least in a small way.

I do the same thing when they ask for a zip code - I use the one I had in college, approximately 1200 miles from where I am now.

Are you joking?

I always tell them it is 123-4567

Then the cashier smiles knowingly (I don’t want to give my number) or demands I give them a “real” number. If they ask for a ‘real’ number I ask them if they are calling me a liar.

Seems to work.

Just ask for theirs in return.

Works really well if they’re cute.

I just tell them “I’d prefer not” and have never had anyone express a problem with that.

Well, not, like, every single check I write bounces, but I’ve bounced several checks a year for 20 years, and I’ve never gotten called.