Catcher in the Rye: Is Antolini Gay?

I’m teaching Catcher in the Rye for the umpteenth time, and every year the kids are fixated on this one point: Is Mr. Antolini gay? My first instinct is to say no, b/c they think EVERYONE is gay. However, there is some textual evidence to suggest that he is. His wife is much older, and Holden mentions that Mr. and Mrs. Antolini are never in the same room together. Makes me think they’re each other’s beards. Also, as a teacher, I can tell you that I’d have to have imbibed an ocean of highballs before I’d be petting one of my student’s heads as they slept.

Does anyone have an opinion on this? Why do you think so?

I always thought so–if only because Holden seems so freaked out by his behavior, and because Holden leaves so quickly after the hair stroking incident. There was also something about the vocab that Holden used to describe him that struck a bell, but it has been a while since I read the book…

I always assumed so. That doesn’t mean I think he was intending to make further advances. The feel I got from the book was that petting the boy’s head was as far as Antolini was willing to take it.

Still, if I had been in Holden’s place, at that age, I would have been creeped out and left ASAP.

That’s fer sure. In Freshman English we read A Separate Peace. The merits of the book as a good book aside, the homoeroticism of Gene Forrester was a constant topic of discussion. Yours truly contributed with a series of very funny cartoons, including one of the notorious scene whereing Gene describes another boy’s rump for a paragraph or two (I’d love to show you it as it was one of my better drawings, from a contour/shape/shading angle, but the scanner was a dud and we got rid of it) and one of the greatest discoveries I made in my Freshman year:

Finny is the object of much of Gene’s thoughts.

His birth name is “Phineas”.

Phineas

Make it a plural possessive*.

Phineas’s

Split the word

Phine/as’s

And we arrive at

Fine Ass.