Catnip is to Felines as BLANK is to Primates

What plant would make us excited and giddy, or at least work on our neurochemical receptors the same way catnip does to cats? Cannabis?

Coca leaves or coffee fruit. (I assume you’re talking about a primitive situation of some kind, no processing or preparation allowed.)

Those’ll both affect any animal, though, right? Is there anything that dopes up humans and only humans, like catnip does for cats?

Actually studies have shown that catnip is like marijuana to primates. Approximately 66% of cats are born with the chemoreceptors for catnip, just as humans have chemoreceptors for marijuana and opiates. Trust me, I am a biologist AND a cat lady!

I may be missing something here, and maybe I don’t get out enough, but people on pot don’t seem to me to be excited or giddy.

Catnip has had a wide range of observed effects, from nothing, to sleep, playfulness, to ecstasy.

So my take on it is sex would be fill in the blank for primates.

But bananas are proven to contain serotonin, right?

Sometimes they get paranoid, though. As long as we’re dealing with such loosely analogous effects, that could be considered the analog for the excited cats. As kanicbird says, catnip has a variety of effects on cats, and the effect may vary from cat to cat, or even different doses for the same cat. I’ve seen cats go into a very stoner-like mellow haze.

“Whoa, man, have you ever, like, really looked at your paw? My claws retract…that’s so cool…”

So I can get high on catnip? Looks like Willy will lose his toys.

Also, SWIM feels drunk with no dizziness while smoking weed.

Cats, in their unintoxicated state, don’t behave exactly like sober humans, so the baseline is different - so we’re already dealing with a quite inexact analogue, before any effect is applied.

Cilantro.