Cauchy Horizon

When I was a kid, I read pop-science books about black holes that said that a rotating black hole has a second event horizon inside the main one. As a physics student, I found out that it’s actually called the Cauchy horizon, but I’m not really sure what its properties are. Wikipedia says it’s “the boundary of a Cauchy problem”, but doesn’t tell me what that is. I’ve heard that one of the properties of a Cauchy horizon is that someone passing through it sees time speed up to infinity in the outside universe. Does anyone have a better definition of a Cauchy horizon?

Take your pick.

This site has a pretty good explanation of black hole interiors. In particular, I’ll direct your attention to the diagram in the section titled “Charged or Rotating Singularities”. The inner horizon, aka the Cauchy horizon, are the lines in pink.

So what’s a Cauchy horizon? Essentially, it’s the boundary of the region of spacetime beyond which we have no way of predicting what will happen without specifying “boundary conditions at the singularity.” (“Solving the Cauchy problem” is mathematical physics speak for "solving the time-evolution of the system given some set of initial conditions.)