Cell Phone in Amsterdam

Hi, Teeming Millions-

I am an American college student about to spend a semester abroad in Amsterdam. I have been researching cell phone rental and purchase options, and I’m having trouble finding a decently priced cell phone. I need to use it to call the U.S. and Canada, and to make calls and send text messages within the Netherlands. The cheapest option I have seen so far is this service, which costs nearly 50 cents a minute to make calls within the Netherlands (though its US rates are quite reasonable).

I’m sure I can do better, though, which is why I’m turning to you: are there any Dutch dopers or frequent travelers that can advise me on the best and cheapest service?

Thanks!

-Zahava424

50 cents per minute within the Netherlands is ridiculous. It should be about 10 or 15 at most (calling cell to cell) with a pre-paid phone which you can buy (renting makes no sense; do ask whether you’ll be able to use it back in the US) for as little as 20 or 30 euros in any number of shops (t for telecom, phonehouse - any Dutch shopping street has them in spades). I am not sure, though, how much calling abroad would be but I imagine that it would be expensive. IN fact, I cannot imagine anyway in which it would not be incredibly expensive, and that’s why I strongly recommend not using a prepaid Dutch mobile phone for calling the US, but getting a skype account and using that to make calls. It is possible that skype will be installed (or is installable) on the university’s computers as well. If you do decide to use a Dutch cell to call the US, find out about plans you can buy which involve you dialing a number in Holland, then entering the phone number in the US and being connected to that number for a very limited rate. People at those phone stores will presumably know.