CellPhone Drivers.....

If you Drive with your Right hand and talk with your left hand, How are you supposed to signal? Figure it out Pinhead, your not important and nobdy gives a shit. Use your turn signals or surrender your car and drivers License. We are all so very, very tired of your self-righteousness.

While I generally try not to, the times that I’ve used my cellphone while driving, I’ve never had a problem signaling*, so I don’t know that it’s fair to classify this as a rant against cell phone drivers. After all, people have been refusing to use their turn signals since long before the advent of cellphones.

*Shifting, on the other hand, is rather difficult.

Naaaw, you just say “shifting” and then with the cellphone hand, shift. Like you I don’t do this terribly often but I do get phone calls at work on occasion since I work in the field and other co-workers sometimes need information they can’t wait for. But it’s not some incredible feat of grace and dexterity to talk on the phone and drive.

I can feel the OP’s frustration, but I think it’s misguided. It’s not the cellphones, nor cell phones while driving that is the problem it’s morons who likely can’t figure out the basics of driving or even walking and chewing gum at the same time.

In the UK it is an offence to use a cell phone while driving, unless you are using a “hands-free” kit.

Is your work-related call so important that it’s more important than paying attention to the road?

In some places in the US, that’s a requirement, too. Some studies have shown that this doesn’t necessarily mean a safer driver. It’s not the hands off the controls so much as the mind off the situation that causes the probelms.

This is bullshit. Thinking you can drive fine with one hand and 10% of your attention is just like thinking you can drive drunk. Intelligence is not in being able to “do both,” but recognizing that you can’t do both, and shouldn’t try.