Chevy Volt - What Were They Thinking?

I was interested in the chevy volt. 94 MPG wow. It’s a tempting car with gas prices rising nonstop. Then I saw the sticker price, around 42K.

I did some math and was stunned to see that I would have to drive this car for about 5 years before I saw a penny savings over the cost of buying a regular car at $20K.
And that is assuming gas goes to 5 bucks a gallon. I’m a heavy driver averaging 25,000 miles a year also. By then, I would have gone past the estimated battery life of 100K so I might even end up losing money on the thing! Plus, car payments would be at least $1,000 a month.

Granted, there is a tax credit, but I’m leary of tax credits as you often have to pay them back sometime.

No thanks, Chevy.

Why would a one-time tax credit every have to be paid back?

As to the cost - yeah, it’s too high. Early adoption of new technology always is. You would have to make a personal decision as to whether the incremental value is worth it to you.

Unfortunately for GM, most car-buyers seem to be deciding it isn’t worth it. Of course, eventually gas will be even more expensive and the calculus will change.

I also couldn’t really get your math to work out - what MPG was the $20k car getting? If it’s reasonable you’d probably actually take quite a bit longer to break even at $5 a gallon and 25k miles per year.

And that’s why all electric vehicles haven’t gone big in the US (or anywhere else). It’s not some big CT by the oil barons and Big Auto™. It’s simple economics. Gas just doesn’t cost enough, even in Europe or Japan let alone in the US.

-XT

I think “oil barons” have had an effect, xtisme. If oil companies were regulated as heavily as electric companies, and at the same time, I’d be interested to see how things evolved differently. I don’t think there’s a massive conspiracy or anything, but the landscape is biased heavily towards gasoline and not electricity.