Chris Pirillo, Dell, and keyloggers.

I was talking to my friend about my progress in assembling parts and warrantees into an affordable, yet high-performance Dell desktop. He responded by saying that Chris Pirillo of TechTV fame had done a thing where he opened up a dell laptop and found a black box inside that was revealed to be a keylogger. Dell apparently refused to comment on the subject leaving behind a moist, steaming mystery.

I’ve searched Google as well as Chris Pirillo’s blog and I couldn’t find anything mentioning this. My friend subscribes to his newsletter and says that the story was published there.

Has anyone else heard of this? I trust my friend otherwise, but I’m still pretty skeptical here.

Skeptical and rightly so.

Color me whooshed. :rolleyes:

I really like this part:

I happen to REALLY be a EE by trade. I find it hard to believe a real EE would confuse a microchip PIC (which is a microcontroller) with a programmable interrupt controller (a chip that also just happens to be called a PIC, but bears no resemblence at all to anything made by microchip). For the non-EE’s out there, this is basically the equivalent of getting the insect beetle and the volkswagon beetle confused simply because they both have the same name.

The bit about it connecting directly to the ethernet chip was equally amusing.

By the way, you really could make a keylogger out of those chips.

Hobbyists might know the PIC microcontroller as the heart of the BASIC Stamp. It, indeed, has nothing whatsoever to do with programmable interface controllers.

Finally, to muddy the acronymic waters even further, software guys usually expand PIC to Position-Independent Code, which has nothing whatsoever to do with this thread.

Some info on the specific PIC model mentioned in the quote.