Civil Construction

In My years as a civil engineering inspector, I have noticed a complete lack of knowledge in the general public about certain civil aspects of life in general. For instance, many people don’t realize what happens when you flush the toilet…where does the “stuff” go? Why does my yard drain off and where does the water go after a big rain? How does water get to my house, and where does it come from? What are those things in the road that the rainwater runs into (Besides a home for “IT”)?

I noticed a post from some time back about clean fill and realized that most people don’t really understand the construction process. I am in West Tennessee, and these things are fairly regional but the concepts are the same. For instance, Do you know what soil cement is and what it is used for? It is a regional use item that is more prevelant here than in most areas of the US, but 95% of you probably have no idea what it is, although you could find out fairly easily. Just offering if there is a question that you feel you might like to know…so you can amaze and wow you friends!

Sei’taer

Hi and welcome to the SDMB! Is this in response to one of Cecil’s columns? If you could post a link to it, then we could all be on the same page, so to speak.

Just Copy and Paste the URL from the address window–vBulletin will automatically make it into a link.

I’m guessing this is in response to the staff report by Ian (who I miss badly, btw): Why do you see signs, “Clean Fill Wanted”?

So it belongs in that forum.
Jill

Sorry, my bad. I had some problems getting logged in and since I am fairly new to the internet, I forgot where the other post was at…but yes it is in reply to the clean fill post. Sooooo what do I do now?

Don’t worry, you haven’t burried yourself. Jill has moved your thread for you. Simply sit back and see if anyone responds to you post.