Claiming abondoned cars?

Does anyone know how I could go about claiming an abandoned car? There’s a 1970s Beetle in this parking lot of a friend of mine, and she says it’s totally hosed and has never moved for 3 years… how do I lay claim to this gem? This is in the State of Colorado in Boulder County.

I don’t think you can. I suspect it would get impounded and auctioned. Call the cops, they should be able to tell you.

I hate cops… and I’m surprised the car hasn’t been moved already. After all, this is Boulder. It’s not on my property either… so I’m thinkin if it’s really abandoned, I may tow it over to my property and then claim it’s abandoned there… tricky :slight_smile:

Do you want to do this legally, or shady? I’ll give you your two choices. Of course, the laws may be different in your state; I used to be a tow truck driver in Massachusetts.

1. The legal way. Since the car is on private property, the police are not involved in this; it’s a civil matter. (Provided the car is not stolen, wanted for crime investigation, et cetera.) The owner of the property would call a private tow company, who will perform what the industry calls a “trespass tow.”

The car is trespassing on private property; the tow company will provide the service of moving and storing the car, which will be at the car owner’s expense. The tow company has a mechanic’s lien agains the car.

Once the owner never comes to claim the car, the tow company must wait a certain amount of time, as well as make some effort to find the owner, usually in the form of registered letters. Eventually, the car will become the property of the tow company. Many tow companies are not intelligent or imaginative enough to go through the paperwork of getting a new title for the car, so they simply junk it.