Classical music lovers, recommend me some classical music!

I like the stuff thats melodic and uplifting, but not too plinky-plonky. I like Mozart but sometimes he gets a bit plinky-plonky for me.

I also don’t want anything too melancholic or heavy.

I’m pretty new to the whole classical music thing so I hardly know any composers - just the famous ones. I also quite like Mahler, but its not what I want to listen to right now…

If you haven’t been listening for a while chamber music is the most accessible. You can’t really go wrong with some Chopin. I suggest picking up the Nocturnes for solo piano. He isn’t too heavy, his music is very expressive, and it doesn’t have that four square Mozart sound. I bet you can find a nice recording by Vladimir Horowitz of them.

You could go for lighter music like the classical guitar. Here, I would go more with performers rather than composers simply because I am picky. William Kannengeiser is pretty expressive and does a wide range of music. John Williams is great but I prefer Julian Bream. Pepe Romero is a speed demon. For them, I would suggest some Albeniz or Villa Lobos. Pretty much anything by either of those composers would fit the bill.

I wouldn’t suggest string quartets, symphonies, or operas because they tend to be a little more esoteric for a novice listener. Plus, if you ever wanted to listen to any of those, the local classical music stations don’t play much else. I would make exceptions for Ravel. You can’t really go wrong with his symphonic (or piano) works (except for Boleros which is just an orchestration exercise). I personally would rank him as the top orchestrator so far in history. Many other people will agree with me. If you listen to his orchestration of Moussourgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition and then compare it to Moussourgsky’s original and less played orchestration you can really see Ravel’s genius.