Cleaning An Oil Painting Myself?

I just bought a rather nice oil painting from a junk shop, but it’s rather dirty and yellowed with what looks like grease and the dirt that accumulates on that: it looks like it’s been hanging in a kitchen where somebody has been frying chips for twenty years: no damage, as far as I can see, just grime. The question is, should I even attempt to clean it myself - and if so how - or just pay a professional to do it? I haven’t had it appraised, but it wouldn’t be enormously valuable - my guess would be $2000 tops - but it’s more about the preserving the painting itself than enhancing the value; it’s a nice little oil on canvas seascape by a Chilean artist named Carlos Perot: not terrifically rare or valuable, but not unknown either.

I’m not an expert. But from what I’ve heard, this is a job that should only be done by experts. It’s something that’s very difficult to do right and very easy to make irreversible mistakes doing wrong.

Surprisingly it involves a fair amount of saliva, even when done by professionals. http://www.wikihow.com/Clean-an-Oil-Painting

Whatever it is that this lady did, do the exact opposite.

Same goes for this guy.

I agree.
I have bought and a sold a number of paintings and I wouldn’t risk damaging an expensive painting doing this.

if it is something that you bought from an art fair or from a garage sale and it only has sentimental value, you could try it. If you do, proceed slowly and stop if things don’t seem to be going well.

It’s unlikely that this oil painting is valuable and involving an expert or professional will probably cost more than it’s worth. So a DIY cleaning is probably fine.

If it’s at all nice, I’d take it to a pro - but if you want to try it yourself, at least get a few truly worthless ones to practice on first (after researching proper materials, techniques, etc.)