Clinical diagnosis of juvenile sociopaths

Tangentially related to: Teens kill a man for fun.

After a bit of googling, it appears that there is disagreement over whether juveniles (under 18) can be clinically diagnosed as APD (aka sociopaths). Does anyone know the reason for this controversy? Can anyone provide an argument one way or the other?

Well, I’m not an expert on the research surrounding anti-social personality disorder. That said, according to the DSM IV:

The diagnostic criteria include “a pervasive pattern of disregard for and violation of the rights of others occurring since age 15 years….”

Under the age of 18, children who exhibit these symptoms are diagnosed as suffering from “Conduct Disorder.”

There is a much deeper argument here, concerning the extent to which people really do fall naturally into these categorical groupings. I’d just like to skirt the issue and say that the lines which divide types are constantly contested and open to modification. Hence the controversy, although I don’t know much about it. I would not be surprised to learn that there are significant legal ramifications connected to the question of which disorder one has. Differential diagnosis is much more of an art than a science.

I suspect this is more of a General Question than a Great Debate.

Mr. Svinlesha is correct. Antisocial Personality Disorder (APD), by DSM-IV definition, cannot be applied to children under 18. It is also not exactly correct that APD is “also known as” sociopathy (or psychopathy), although the concepts share similarities.

There are three disorders that are presumed to reflect the development of antisocial behavior over the life span: Oppositional Defiant Disorder, Conduct Disorder and APD. They roughly follow the “rule of thirds”: about 1/3 of those with ODD develop CD and about 1/3 of those with CD develop APD.