Coasting fuel efficiency: in gear or out?

So I am coasting up to a red light in my modern manual gearbox car, with my foot off the accelerator. Is it more fuel efficent to be in neutral, with the engine ticking over; or in gear, with the engine at the speed dictated by road speed and the gear I have chosen?

I should say I am not looking to perfect a fuel efficent system of driving, it is just idle curriosity! :slight_smile:

I have the same thoughts as I coast to a red light.
I believe it is best to coast, for the most part, in gear and here is why:
First, the gear works as a kind of brake, so if nothing else that saves you some brake. In a fuel efficiency sense, in my understanding (I am no auto mechanic), the car does not idle as quickly in gear as when it is in neutral, the quicker idling requiring more gas to go to the carb-pistons-etc.
I have gleened this mostly from my sparse knowledge of combustion engines and the sound of the engine when idling and in gear. Give it a listen and see if you think what I’ve written makes sense.

Not quite. How much gas is consumed depends on the load on the engine. When it’s idling the only load is the friction of its own moving parts. When the car is moving and in gear, there is the friction in the rest of the drivetrain and air resistance as well. Even though the motor may not be running as fast at low coasting speeds as it is when idling, it’s still expending more energy and using up more fuel.

Oh that’s a good point.
But imagine the engine were made of perfect rolling spheres… :wally

“Saving some brake” vs “saving some engine” is a pretty easy decision. Brakes are designed to slow down the car, and are most reliable when it comes to braking. We’ve had plenty of discussions on downshifting vs braking, and braking always seems to come out on top.

What’s the amount of time when it becomes more efficient to just turn the motor off? I’d like to know for both a bike and a car if anyone’s got the answer. :slight_smile: