Collection agency calling about a 16 year old debt. Do I have to pay?

In 1992, I was a Freshman in college and was approved for a Citibank MasterCard. A year or so later, I had charged about $600 on it and defaulted. I got collection notices etc. way back then, then never heard about it again. I’ve not had any issues getting car loans, I was approved for a mortgage etc. in the past few years.

Back in June, I get a letter from a collection agency asking for payment on that credit card from the early 90’s. Now they somehow have my phone number and I get a message about once a week asking for payment. I thought there was something like a 7-10 year statute of limitations on debt collection. Can they come back after all these years and add something negative to my credit rating? Or is this, as I suspect, a company that buys “old debt” and just pockets it if some sucker actually pays after 15+ years?

In a word…NO!

Just ignore the letters and phone calls,

You might want to check out your state laws first. Some debts, such as credit card accounts, may be ‘open-ended’.
From MSN

Generally not. What State do you live in?

In any case, the debt should not show up on your credit report.

Usually the best idea here is to send them a letter (2 copies, one 1st clas, the other Certified Mail) stating that you dispute the debt and you do not want any further contact from them.

You spent the money, you should pay it regardless of if you have to.

No, since you are not paying it back to the people who lent it to you. All you are doing is making a scamster collection agency richer. This just convinces them to use even more immoral and illegal tricks to collect cash from naifs. Paying money to such people is an immoral act.

If you really wanted to make your consience clear, then contact your original company that lend you the money. Of course, since they have already written off the money, they are constrained to some extent from accepting it, it should cause minor tax problems.