College degrees and job experience

Is it true that employers won’t hire anyone that has a college degree backed up with no job experience?

I think it probably depends on the degree.

There are a lot of liberal arts majors out there making fries.

Life is short. Make fun of it.

Also depends on the job in question.

I recently hired a college graduate with limited on-the-job experience because:

a) She was willing to work for the pay we were offering.

b) She was intelligent enough to grasp the concept of the job.

c) The completion of a degree program in and of itself indicates some ability to persevere and apply intellect to problem solving.

I have a friend who has a degree in Electrical Engineering. He got a job fresh out of college working in the computer room of an insurance company, and soon after wound up in charge of it. Very little to do with the degree, but a lot to do with ability.

Now, if you’re asking how hard it is to find a job within your chosen field, well, that’s not quite as easy.

I know you understand what you heard me say, but what you don’t understand is what I said is not necessarily what I meant.

Is isn’t? :frowning: What do you mean by that?

As Melatonin said, that depends on the degree. And also on the particular field. I have no doubt there is no shortage of jobs for which a college graduate would technically be over-qualified, even with a Liberal Arts degree. :slight_smile: (But I sometimes doubt the fry cooks at my local Mickey D’s have graduated from anywhere.)

There are some fields where openings are readily available at entry level, where entry level requires a degree. But in some instances there may be a surfeit of candidates, making it harder to land a job that has any particular relevance to the degree just earned. This is part of what happened to the friend I described in my last post.