Commercial flights in the event of Air Traffic Control shutdown

I was speaking recently with a GA pilot friend about what would happen to the commercial airlines in the event of a total government shutdown. For this scenario lets say that Air Traffic Control is not working at all. How would that affect commercial air carriers and freight carriers?

For example – without ATC you cannot file an IFR and so you cannot fly above 18,000 feet. Yes, I know there would not be anyone enforcing the IFR, but it would be dangerous to fly without it, right? However for large passenger jets it would require too much fuel to fly long routes below that altitude. Would the flights be cancelled?

What other considerations would there be?

I must be confused, but your question couldn’t actually be as simple as “Would commercial passenger airline travel in the U.S. continue operations if there was no air traffic controlers at the, um, controls?”, right?

I am not an expert in the subject, but I would have to guess “No”.

Out of curiousity, what is your best guess?

Well, planes can fly without the ATC to facilitate takeoffs and landings. I assume there is some sort of plan in the event of a power outage at one airport, so perhaps that would be extended to allow traffic to continue?

If this happened I doubt that Delta, Fed Ex, et al, would just close down too. I’m wondering what other alternate ways they would use to stay in business.

Wow, that is hard for me to wrap my head around. I had no idea that anyone with even a the most elementary, simplistic understanding of the subject could actually possibly believe this.

I fly for a living, so here’s my two cents (which is even less in today’s money)…

I don’t see how any airlines could possibly operate without ATC. It’s not just a matter of filing flight plans or climbing above 18000’. It’s about safety. There is simply no way our current air travel system could work without ATC.