Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

I am 53 and female. I’m a former teacher and college professor. I have CRPS. Is there anyone here who is familiar with the disorder? I live in upstate New York.

I could drive to Princeton-Plainsboro, but I think House retired.

This is what the NHS says about it:

Complex regional pain syndrome (CRPS) is a poorly understood condition where a person experiences persistent severe and debilitating pain.

Although most cases of CRPS are triggered by an injury, the resulting pain is much more severe and long-lasting than normal.

The pain usually only affects 1 limb, but it can sometimes spread to other parts of the body.

The skin of the affected body part can become so sensitive that a slight touch, bump or even a change in temperature can cause intense pain.

Affected areas can also become swollen, stiff or undergo fluctuating changes in colour or temperature.

CRPS often gradually improves over time. But some people with CRPS experience pain for many years.

Thanks, Bob_2! I have been DXed by many physicians and surgeons, from several disciplines/specialties.

I may posted in the wrong category, but I’m brand new to SDMB, and I seek input from other sufferers, their caregivers, and/or healthcare professionals.

—Fiona

I’ve reviewed many files with diagnoses of CRPS. I am not a doctor, but my understanding is that a diagnosis of CRPS ought to be based on a constellation of pretty specific symptoms - as well as observable signs and findings - as bob-2 describes.

Again, I am not a doctor, but my lay observation has been that CRPS symptoms often seem to be longer lasting and more resistant to treatment than many other pain disorders.

Good luck.

Again, I do not seek information about the disorder, just delete the OP.

—Fiona

Cool. And welcome to the Dope. If - instead of closing the thread, it were moved to MPSIMS, you might find the sort of input your desire.

Actually, health-related stuff usually goes in IMHO.