Computer processor (sandy bridge)

So I’m looking to buy a new desktop primarily for photo processing and editing. I’m a novice at most computer stuff. How much of a difference will the “new” sandy bridge processors make over the current Dell studio xps 9100 offering for 999 (that includes Intel® Core™i7-930 processor(8MB L2 Cache, 2.80GHz)) that is going on this weekend? Am I correct in understanding that the current offering is not the Sandy Bridge architecture since there was some non-understandable issue and that it wont be resolved until April?

I really dont know how much or what kind of improvement that is supposed to make, but I figure if I’m going to buy a machine I might as well get something good.

Building a unit myself is not an option. 1k-1500 is the price range.

The big deal about the Sandy Bridge chips wasn’t the massive improvement in performance that they offered, but rather their incredible value. The i7 2600 basically offers $1000 980X performance for only $300. The i5 2500 offers $300 i7 950 performance for $200. The unlocked multipliers of the K-branded chips is also fantastic, but that won’t come into play for an OEM machine (probably). If you’re getting a good deal on an 1366 i7 machine, Sandy Bridge isn’t going to do much for you.

The problem with the cougar point chipset is already resolved and I know that boards should be returning to retail in early March. No idea when OEMs will receive their chips, but I’m pretty sure they already have solutions in place since some Sandy Bridge machines have been released recently, like the new Apple notebooks.

Is there a simpler way you can say that? :slight_smile: What do you mean by “1366 i7 machine” Specifically the 1366 part and the 2600 part.