Computer startup question: Primary hard disk not found

I’ve been living with this problem for quite some time but I would like to get rid of it if possible. I have a Dell Optiplex GX1P and am running windows 98. When I startup I get the following error message:

Primary Hard Disk Drive 1 Not Found

Strike F1 to Continue or F2 to run Setup Utility.

I hit F1 and the computer starts normally from there but I would like to get it to not do this.

I don’t know if this is an easy thing to fix or not. I’m fine at using the computer in a Windows environment but I’m not too experienced with using the setup utility. Any help you guys could offer would be great!

Have you had this system for quite some time? It sounds to me like your CMOS battery has gone dead. This is the little coin-cell somewhere on your motherboard. When you hit “F1” during boot to get into your BIOS Setup Menu and do an Exit & Save, these settings get saved in CMOS. Don’t ask me why this name is used, it’s just a small area where your Setup selections are “remembered” by the system. This area of memory (not your system memory by the way) is powered by that coin-cell, and things like what kind of hard drive you have is stored there. If the coin cell goes dead and your CMOS gets wiped, your computer can’t remember how to “talk” to your hard drive in order to boot from it. Try replacing the coin cell, go into Setup, go to the section that deals with identifying your hard disk, make sure the system sees it (if it doesn’t, do an Auto-Detect if your BIOS supports that) then Exit and Save. Everything should be fine after that.

The battery on my motherboard is also used to store the time and date on my computer when the power is off right? That information is correct when I startup so I don’t think that could be it.

I had this problem once because of unseated PCI cards. I wasn’t able to get to the OS at all though…