Computer viruses and the felony murder rule

I have been reading about the ransomware attacks on several hospitals. It made me wonder, if somebody ended up dying because of this, could the creators of the software be charged with capital murder? Cyberattacks are considered to be felonies.

In most jurisdictions (all?), the felonies eligible for felony murder are enumerated by statute. I doubt that they include computer crimes.

Capital murder usually involves a specific intent to kill. It would be very difficult to prove that level of intent for someone who plants a virus which is intended to extort money. But I’d believe manslaughter, reckless homicide, and some kind of depraved indifference homicide charges.

Forgot – I am not a lawyer, a computer hacker, or a murderer.

IANAL either, but I don’t believe this is correct. Killing someone while committing arson is capital murder in many jurisdictions and there needed be any intent to kill – just to commit arson.

The felony murder rule (where it exists) is an exception to the mens rea requirement for murder convictions. To follow up on Richard Parker’s point, the enumerated crimes that trigger the rule are invariably dangerous crimes only - battery, robbery, rape, arson and so on.

Now, if you blew up a hospital’s servers and somebody died because of a resulting failure in a ventilator or whatever, sure.

This raises an interesting question that probably needs a REAL lawyer to answer. I looked up the Texas penal code figuring if there’s anyplace that has an expansive death penalty, that would be the place. Here’s what it says:

I read this as meaning that they commit the murder while doing the other thing, not that the death is an unintended outcome of one of these specified things. If I’m right, that would mean a “regular” murder is enhanced to a capital murder if one of these other crimes is being done.

But I could be wrong.

NM - didn’t pay attention to distinctions in Texas law.