Computer Wizards: VTReg.exe

Okay, I have a RoadRunner cable modem that is connected to my Dell 4100 via USB. I sometimes experience loss of the modem for first one reason and then another. Restarting the computer restores the modem. When I got up this morning, the modem had dropped off and I restarted the computer. Once it restarted, I saw something new: A message box instructing me to insert the RoadRunner Self Connect CD, which I did. Almost immediately, ZoneAlarm threw up a message box stating that program “VTReg.exe” was attempting to access the Internet and was that okay? I did NOT grant permission. I also immediately removed the CD. I have been completely unable to contact the RoadRunner help desk, which is not unusual, so I am turning again to the SDMB for help—What is “VTReg.exe” and should I be so paranoid about it?

Thanks for any input.

As far as I can tell (And I’m no expert), VTReg.exe is a program that RR cable is trying to use to ascertain which port you use to access the internet, or more correctly, the cable modem.

Again, that’s a far as I can tell.

If it were me (And I’m pretty paranoid/careful about who and what accesses the internet from my comp) I’d let it do its thing.

The bigger question to me, anyways, is why your using a USB to connect to the modem. So, how come?

A Google search for “VTReg.exe” turned up exactly nothing and that made me even more paranoid. I still haven’t been able to contact the RoadRunner help desk–maybe because its Saturday and I am not willing to hold for thirty minutes or so.