Confessions of a Software Pirate (long, and there's a moral AND advice sought)

I don’t know why I’m starting this in the Pit, because it’s not a rant, but it might get kind of ugly. I dunno. Here’s my tale of woe - listen to my story, children, and learn from my mistakes.

I’m an OS pirate. I’ve been running Windows for overten years and have only sort of paid for it once (98 came installed on a computer I bought).

We won’t go into the specifics of HOW I got my pirated copy of Windows 2000 (W2K), but I have one. It’s all the files, burned onto a CD. Huzzah.

Yesterday some new components I ordered came in - new huge hard drive and faster CD burner. Like an idiot, I decide to try to install them all at once. There was much wailing and gnashing of teeth, but I finally got to the point where the original HD, then new HD, and the CD burner were seeming to coexist peacefully. The ZIP drive was having problems, though, and the computer wasn’t happy with the fact that I’d removed the floppy drive, since I needed its bay more than I needed it. So I go to the Iomega site, find the upgraded installer for W2K, and run it, thinking it’ll solve my problems.

I was wrong in the worst way. There’s a known bug in Iomega’s W2K installer that sometimes causes a little problem. It did in my case. Now the computer just reboots over and over. I can’t get to the OS at all, it just reboots.

Iomega’s fix is to go to the BIOS, boot from CDROM, boot from the W2K CD, and then do some other stuff. Problem is, my pirated W2K disk isn’t bootable.

So I am screwed. Now, I only have myself to blame. It’s my own fault that I have a pirated OS, that I went about the installation stupidly, and so forth. I am fully hip to that.

But I want to amend my ways. I want to go legit on W2K. I want to Do the Right Thing.