Contact lens advice needed

I’ve been wearing glasses for about 7 years now, and finally decided that I wanted to try contact lenses. I’ve been wearing them for a couple of weeks now, but they’re less than perfect, and I can’t decide whether I should stick with it and how picky I should be about continuing to try new kinds until I’m satisfied with my vision.

I’ve always known that most of the correction I need is for astigmatism, but a little for nearsightedness too. I no longer have a copy of my prescription for my last pair of glasses, but as I recall, I had significantly more sphere than cylinder in both eyes, and significantly more of both in my right eye. I learned from searching past threads that the contact lense prescription is usually different from the glasses perscription because the contact lenses are sitting directly on the surface of the eye. Still, I’m a bit confused about my contact lens prescription. (I didn’t look at it until I walked out of the office; that’s why I didn’t ask the optometrist this question.) Here it is:

R: plano, -2.25 x 100
L: +0.50, -0.75 x 180
8.6/14.4

Now, as I said I understand why the contact lens prescription might be a little weaker than the one for glasses, but if I do have nearsightedness in my right eye, how can the right eye be plano for sphere? I know my glasses have some sphere correction. How can having the lens sit on the surface of your eye eliminate the need for nearsightedness correction altogether? Furthermore, I recall that the left eye in my glasses had a tiny bit of sphere as well–so why would the left contact lens be adjusting for farsightedness? (BTW, they measured my glasses at my first appointment, so I know they know what my glasses prescription is.)