Contemplating a big change in my life (long, but advice needed)

I’m faced with a dilemma: I have received a job offer in Chicago. An actual, “legit” job. One that would actually make my mother at least semi-proud to tell people. She’s never liked what I do for a living. So much so that I learned that she actually has been known to tell people that I’m unemployed. Not that I’m living my life for her, you understand. But there are good and bad things about this move, should I do it:

GOOD:

1. Money-More of it, in theory. And a lot more stable, income-wise. I have no problem being a starving artist, but my cat likes to eat a bit more regularly. A steady income would solve this problem.

2. Cubs baseball-I’m a huge fan, and love going to Wrigley Field every chance I get. Living in Chicago would enable me to see more games. Not just in person, but also on WGN, which I currently get on my local cable TV, and FoxSports Chicago, which I don’t.

3. ChiDopes-I’d already be there, and could offer floor space to anyone who wanted or needed it.

4. My social life-Or lack of it, to be honest. I figure that Chicago would help that aspect of things. Hell, they couldn’t get any worse, could they? Maybe I could play up the “new guy in town” aspect, too.

5. Culture-Chicago has culture coming out the nutsack, and Louisville has almost NONE. I’m not a HUGE culture person, but it’s nice to know that I could take in a cultural experience if I so desired. Plus, my plan for Shakespeare (I’m planning on modernizing a play or two, and having all the characters speaking in heavy southern accents) would be better-suited to perform there, and my screenplay would probably thrive in a new setting.

6. Chicago sounds MUCH cooler than Louisville when people ask where you live.

7. I keep saying that I’d like to get to know the ChiDopers better (jarbaby, boli, Nymmy when she’s around, etc). This would be a perfect way to achieve this goal.

BAD: