Cooking Help: Spices/Seasonings

I recently ordered a nifty spice rack from Woot.com (actually, it was on Wine Woot!), and it’s basically a stainless steel rack with 30 tubes of spices in it. Many of the spices, I know pretty much how I’ll use them. There are a couple, though, that I have little to no experience with, and would very much like suggestions on what to do with them. Exact recipes are nice, of course, but certainly not necessary. Just some suggestions about what combines well with what.

The two I’m most curious about are the garam masala and the curry powder. So let’s start with those. What would you suggest I add them to? How spicy are they? How hot are they? Anything you think I would find interesting about these things, I’d probably find interesting! :slight_smile:

Worst choices imaginable. Both Garam Masala and Curry Powder are spice mixtures that can vary along a large scale of effects.

Oh, OK. One tip that I read on the message board at Woot, the day this deal was being discussed, was to make some croutons with a seasoning you’re not sure about. That way, you can get a good feel for what it tastes like, and what it may go well with.

I’m sure that some of the stuff I’m going to end up not using. But hey, I paid a total of $30.00 (incl. shipping) for an awesome rack, pretty cook spice tubes (they look like test tubes with flat bottoms!), and at least 20 spices I know I’ll use. So I figured this was a good opportunity to experiment with some stuff I’d hesitate to buy at the store, because spices are expensive and if I spend $6.00-$8.00 on a new one, and don’t like it, I’m out that money. :frowning: