Cop uses straw from Taco Bell drink to get DNA sample

IANAL, but reading this story makes me believe that this guy’s rights HAVE to have been violated. Any attorneys want to chime in here?

Which rights in particular do you think have been violated?

What about the rights of the two women he raped?

Garbage is garbage. The cop had just as much right to that straw as anyone, or did you think he was going to carefully destroy it rather than just toss it into the trash when he was done?

How about the 4th Amendment (U.S. Constitution)?

“The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized.”

The police officer in the article states:

I am also not a lawyer, but it seems to me that the cop never even gave him a chance to dispose of the straw. She gave him the drink; therefore it was his property. She then took his straw without his permission. I would have less of a problem if the cop had waited until he disposed of it in the trash.

This is probably more suited for GD, but whenever I hear a comment like this, I always think it’s a loaded question. You can use such a statement to justify any violation of a suspect’s rights. While I am not trying to justify the actions of a rapist, and this one ultimately confessed, we are supposed to presume that a person is innocent until proven guilty, right?

How is this any different from picking up fingerprints?

Well, she purchased the drink. It could be argued that the straw was still her property, and she was merely letting him use it. Then it would not be his to dispose of.

“What about the rights of…”?! C’mon now, I can’t believe I got that fashionable justification in this forum.