Copyright Q: Distribution rights

A question’s come up in this thread and rather than hijack that one further I’m bringing it here. The question is about the right to distribute copyrighted works. I contend that distribution rights are automatically assigned to the copyright holder unless specifically assigned elsewhere; others are indicating their belief that distribution rights can go unassigned to anyone and in such a case anybody who wants to can distribute the copyrighted work.

Although I am not a lawyer, from experiance I know that with the copyright comes permission to share the work, for free or for a fee. No one else has the right to do so without the consent (usually in contractual form) of the copyright holder. Copyright law is unclear in many areas, so a lawyer who speicializes in this is recommended. Also know that if you go through the extra step of formally registeriing your works (which you own the copyright to when you create them), you will have extra legal protections.

Hope that helps a little.

I’m not sure what you mean by “distribution.”

The copyright holder has to agree to allow any copies to be made. Once the copies are made, they can be distributed in any manner. For instance, a book publisher can sell them to a wholesaler, who sells them to a retailer. The copyright holder is not involved in the distribution process; that’s a business decision by whoever he licenses to make the copies and copyright law doesn’t apply.

Distribution is generally a contractual issue, not a legal one.

Now if someone makes copies of the work illegally, they do not have the right to distribute them, either.

From the initial thread:

On the hypothetical that no one actually owned the distribution rights of a film, who would take action against someone distributing copies? Only somebody who potentially could be losing royalties would be in a position to complain.