Cosmetic Eyelid Surgery in Mexico

A friend of mine is looking into cosmetic surgery (blepharoplasty) to tighten up the skin above his eyelids and remove the bags underneath. He wants to find a good, reliable surgeon who gets good results, but also at a reasonable price. I told him to find out who, locally, is certified by the board of plastic surgeons and go from there. I’m pretty sure it’s a relatively common procedure. Now he says he is considering going to Tijuana, Mexico for this surgery. Apparently it’s a doctor and staff trained in the US, but the price is a lot less there. Personally, I wouldn’t want to gamble with my FACE with cheap cosmetic surgery, but what do I know. Does anyone here have experience - good or bad - with such surgery done overseas or in Mexico at a lower price than in the US?

I have no personal experience, but there was a big article in a recent Time magazine about people going overseas to save money on elective surgery, although the destination mentioned in the article was mostly Asia.

snort “he”

Anyway, uhm, I know that my cousin got a rhinoplasty down in Mexico 'cause she couldn’t afford to get one here. Everything turned out fine, but she says that you have to be very, very careful when choosing your surgeon. Sorry I can’t be of more help, however I don’t see her all that often so that’s all I got. I hope everything goes well for your friend. So long as he isn’t more worried about the price rather than the quality of the procedure, he’ll be fine.

My mother had her eye-lids done in Mexico, and one of my sister’s had her nose done, also in Mexico.

This might come off as a surprise but other countrie’s doctors can be pretty reliable too. And just because they are cheaper doesn’t mean they use a shot of whiskey and a bullet to bite as anesthetics.

And make sure he reaserches the doctor your friend picks, but that goes without saying regardless of where you have the surgery.