Costco shopping and your credit score...

I’ve heard that Costco will be introducing their new Visa card in the near future. I’ve also heard that it will have the same conditions and benefits as the soon to be replaced American Express card.

My questions are these:

Would it be best for my credit score to simply allow my Costco AMEX card to expire in May of 2018 {with occasional purchases}, as opposed to cancelling it? I have had the card since 2007.

Instead of the Costco Visa card, I have determined that the Citi Double Cash Back Visa card would work best for my spending habits. Could I use the Citi Visa at Costco instead of their Costco Visa ?

If important, my credit score is close to 800.

I’m no expert in credit scores, but I think you get points for having cards that have been open a long time. Also, I don’t think credit cards “expire,” they’ll mail you a new one before the expiration date. In other words, you’ll have the AMEX forever unless you cancel it. I’d keep it open if the annual fee isn’t a problem.

That’s up to Costco. I do know that when AmEx was their card, it didn’t have to be a Costco AmEx.

Not expire, but if the card goes unused for a period of time (typically like 1-2 years), the Credit Card company will close the account on their own. On your credit report it will be marked as “Closed, no balance” and doesn’t hurt your credit score (except that your total available credit will go down).

Is it your oldest card? Then, no. If not, go ahead and cancel it.

Good point!
I will just completely stop using it and let AMEX close it for me.

To answer the other question recently posted, it is not my oldest card.