Could a member of the British Royal Family become a barrister?

…or a solicitor, or even a judge?

The military has always been a career option for British royals; it seems most have medals dripping off of them on state occasions by the time they’re out of diapers. Prince Edward, Earl of Wessex, is making a career as a film producer/communications consultant, I believe. Others focus on public appearances and good works, or just dabble in this or that.

What if Prince Harry decides, after his Army career, to study for the bar? Is there any constitutional impediment to him becoming a barrister, a solicitor or, in time, a judge? Could he do one but not one of the others? The Law Lords are given life peerages; could Prince Harry study for and pass the bar, and in time serve either as a Law Lord or a non-noble judge?

An interesting question, the answer to which I can only guess.

There’s clearly nothing preventing members of the Royal Family from gaining professional qualifications - HRH the Duke of Gloucester is an architect. So I suppose that Prince Harry could enrol for and attempt the required law/bar exams. Whether he’d pass them is another matter of course. He’s rumoured to be somewhat thick.

Once “called to the bar”, barristers are also “officers of the court” (or they are in NSW anyway). I’m not sure whether this would cause any sort of conflict. Presumably it could if Prince Harry actually bcame the monarch. Otherwise, if members of the Royal Family can serve in HM’s armed forces then I can’t see why they couldn’t work in HM’s courts.

I’d say it’s likely that he’ll be granted an hereditary peerage when he marries.

I don’t see why a Royal couldn’t be a barrister, but just having a peerage doesn’t entitle one to sit as a Law Lord - one must first hold high judicial office.

And…just because some watery tart hurls a scimitar at you, that doesn’t make you king
:smiley: