Crackpot Physics Question of the Week

Though the Crackpot in question is myself.

Occasionally, while my mind wanders, I’ll hit upon a notion in some field of science in which, while I have had a few college courses, I am no expert.

My question is this. If you have two black holes drawn towards each other, could they accelerate past the speed of light?

My reasoning : As an object approaches the speed of light, its mass increases… normally this means it requires more energy to accelerate, and provides the universal speed limit of C.

But with acceleration due entirely to gravity, the mass increase of the two black holes would serve to intensify the force applied as well. So as they reach infinite mass, their gravitational pull becomes infinite as well. Not to mention the fact that they’re getting closer all the time, further increasing the pull.

If it is possible that they could exceed C, what are the implications? How massive would each black hole need to be to achieve the effect?

As the gravitational force approaches infinity, speed approaches c. But there’s nothing particularly special about this case that allows it to go past c. In fact we don’t know of any circumstances that allows it.

Is there an equation for acceleration due to gravity in the Einsteinian mold? The one I know for classical mechanics doesn’t have the c-limiter, of course.

it really isn’t a crackpot question at all and a quite good one. To begin with I’m not sure if gravitational force is based on relatavistic mass or only on rest mass. For thesake of argument let’s say gravitational force increases proportional to relatavistic mass which increases with relative velocity. The problem is that gravity is a very weak force and when you apply distance to the inverse square law the force is quite weak until the two objects are extremely close. It’s oversimplifying but force of earth’s gravity is half when you are only one half earth diameter (about 4k miles) away from the surface.