cRatings on Yahoo Chess seem very weird--any insights?

I’ve been using Yahoo chess for 12 years now. Its rating system has changed several times, but over the past year things have really gotten strange.

Ratings seem to have descended gradually and recently just plain crashed. I don’t know whether this is due to a subtle change in the algorithm used to calculate ratings or lower-rating people are just plain cheating more.

I used to play in the range of 1500-1600 when I was in a groove. Now I have a hard time staying about 1400. I don’t think I’ve become a worse player over the past five years.

Moreover, I have some more or less objective points that I think back me up:

• Players in the 1200s used to be just plain easy. You could count on them to drop a piece or do something else mistaken to lose the game. Now it seems people in this range are good players who rarely make mistakes.

• Players in the 1300s, similarly, used to be fairly easy prey. Now I see players in this range playing fairly sophisticated openings like Sicilian defense, etc.

• The medium-level lounges used to be populated with players up to about 1600, with those above that rating usually going to the advanced rooms. Now it seems that it tops out somewhere in the 1400s.

• I am seeing players in all ranges, even with quite low ratings, play with incredible grit and tenacity that I have never seen in lower-rated players. It really does feel like cheating, with the only thing that doesn’t seem like cheating is that they are not playing standard openings.

It almost feels as though some very easy-to-use chess program is in use that lets players fool around with openings of their choice and then dig in as needed. Of course, computers have always been a means of cheating.

I don’t know–it really seems that something fishy is going on. Any ideas?