Credit Counseling? The Truth Please

Ok before I jump on one of these plans like Ameridebt or CCCS. What really happens to my Credit? I rather ask the common folk before I ask the people who actually run the program.

I’m using CCCS to help with my credit card debt. I think it’s great. They can negotiate deals with most creditors wherein you get a lower interest rate and they knock of the persistent late charges. Also, they’ll automatically debit from your bank account every month so you don’t even have to think about it.

I don’t know about Ameridebt, but CCCS is pretty cool.

Credit is evil. Too bad it’s so necessary.

short reply:
When you sign up with the credit card counseling program, the program is listed on your report for seven years. So it will affect your credit rating. But how long does a bankruptcy stay on your credit report?
longer reply:
I went in for an interview myself after I got my Master’s and was looking for a job in my field. But I found one, so didn’t use the service.

The companies are non-profit and are subsidized by credit card companies, who would rather be paid slowly than have you file for bankruptcy. You pay a one-time setup fee of $30 and around $20 a month for administrative costs-- it’s not a whole lot. The counseling service will negotiate with your various credit card companies to lower your monthly payments &, I think, your Annual Percentage Rates…If you are really in debt with no chance of a big raise in sight, it’s a chance to clean up your finances.

They also generally recommend that you cut up your credit cards.

Bankruptcies stay on your report for 10 years; yet you can file every 6-7 years.

My husband and I tried credit counseling. Bunch of BS. I could not afford the payments, plus we were still getting socked with late fees and everything. The one we were with was supposed to lower our payments after 6 months, they didn’t do it. So you can guess what our next course of action was…