Criminal lawyers in the US

I’ve been working in an Irish criminal law office for a couple years, and it’s made me curious about the US system and the distinction between “public defenders” and private criminal lawyers.

Here, we don’t have public defenders as such. If a defendant can’t afford their own lawyer, the court will assign their case to a solicitor on the Legal Aid panel. These solicitors are all privately employed; they get paid in Legal Aid cases by filing a claim with the State. Though they have private clients too, the large majority of their work (and income) comes from Legal Aid, because most of the people who are prosecuted for criminal offences are from the lower end of the income scale.

As far as I know, all the major criminal defence lawyers in Ireland are on the Legal Aid panel. It simply wouldn’t be economical to only take private clients - there aren’t enough of them to earn a big lawyer’s salary from. So if you’re a defendant with a big salary, when you “go private” you’re going to go to the same lawyers that the poor defendants go to - anyone else isn’t going to have the expertise that they have, because they’ll be doing criminal defence on the side rather than as the main focus of their practice.

So what I’m wondering is how it is in the US that the “good” criminal lawyers are the private ones, who (if I’m understanding the US system correctly) only have clients that can afford to pay for them. How is it that these lawyers get enough clients to develop the expertise they need to be better at criminal defence than the public defenders, who are in there all day, every day? Do wealthier people get prosecuted more in the US? Is the income threshold for a public defender so low that nearly everyone has to go private? Is it a self-reinforcing system where people think public defenders are so bad they pay to go private even if they can’t afford it and thereby give private lawyers more work? Or is there something else that I’m missing entirely?