Critical Period for Music Theory

I play the guitar occasionally, but I’m not very good at it because I don’t practice often enough. Anyhow, I always loathed music classes in grade school because they didn’t seem scholastic enough. I’d like to pick up some music theory, but I can’t make sense of any music theory textbooks–there’s too much jargon. Is there a critical period for learning music theory, similar to the critical period that exists for natural language? Have I missed the boat completely?

Music theory is a completely intellectual pursuit and is not directly related to learning to actually play music. Music theory is like learning physics to understand how a basketball bounces. Michael Jordan probably doesn’t know his F from his ma.

I don’t know what books you are using, but you do realize that music involves specialized language. But a good theory book will introduce and teach all the terms before just blasting them at you.

What kind of music do you like to play? I might be able to recommend something if I know what direction you’re going. Theory applied to rock, jazz, and classical have a lot of overlap but different emphasis (in rock you won’t care as much about voice leading, chord extensions, etc.) I play jazz and some rock and have taken a couple of classical theory courses, and studied jazz theory extensively on my own (although still have trouble applying it!).

I play rock & roll, so I’d like to learn scales and those kinds of things. You know, to be able to improvise.