CSI Science! on my job

I’ve been a chemical engineer for twenty years now, so you’d think I do lots of sciency things at work. Yet, usually, what I do looks absolutely nothing like what they show on tv for CSI or one of the other science procedural shows.

Except today. I’ve been doing CSI-ish stuff. It sucks: back hurts, eyestrain. Ugh.

It all started when the plant guys came to me with their usual complaint: “It’s doing X. Make it stop.”

X, in this case, was sparkling crystals on the filter cartridges of one of my processes. I considered, but rejected, the possibility that one of the union operators had been glittering himself up to go to a circuit party or something.

So, I got to be all sciency. Looked at the crystals under the microscope. Tried to dissolve them, react them, melt them. No joy. But they’re considerably larger than what should have been possible to get through to that filter, so something was going on.

So, I spent a good day, hunched over filter cartridges, with flashlight in one hand and tweezers in the other, picking itty-bitty crystals off to collect them. I sent them off for x-ray diffraction, and finally have my answer:

Opals.

My filter cartridges are, apparently, jewel-encrusted.

Still makes no sense, so I’ve just spent another day with the tweezers playing CSI tech. I’m sending another sample off for re-analysis.

I guess I’m a little miffed, though, that no one will understand why I found my instructions to the lab amusing:

"Re-analyze unknown solids by x-ray diffraction. Probably silicon dioxide, as:

1. Quartz
  2. Cristobalite
  3. hi, Opal"

Okay. Hm. I remember something about artificial generation of opals. They’re not so much a solid…
To Wiki!

Opal is a mineraloid gel which is deposited at a relatively low temperature and may occur in the fissures of almost any kind of rock

The water content is usually between three and ten percent, but can be as high as twenty percent.

Hmmmm.