CSS experts, have a newbie question

Being a backend developer, I have avoided having to deal with CSS much. There is an aspect to it, that has bothered me, so perhaps CSS experts here can explain a concept for me and put me on the right track.

In this example, you have a website and there are hyper links on various pages, but the default for this is for the text-decoration to be “none”. But you want to be able to have one link have an underline and a different color. While leaving all the other links to behave as they have.

I put together the following CSS:

Keep in mind, the above would be added to a Joomla custom.css file, which is where you put your own CSS in addition to the CSS which is provided for the template.

Of course, the above would simply overwrite how all the links behave on the website, which is not what we want to do.

How do I combine all of the above CSS so that it would only be used for the specific link which would be a

?

I have seen numerous examples online, but they use an ID or CLASS but with just one single thing in it such as handling the underline or the color. How do you combine the above and just reference it all by itself for this one special link?

As a software developer, I’d expect CSS to function like this, but I don’t recall seeing this kind of syntax:

If you put an id in there, so it says

<a id="myspeciallink" href="foo">foobaz</a>

then can’t you just do your CSS as:

#myspeciallink:link, #myspeciallink:visited {
  color: #da0026;
  text-decoration: none;
}

#myspeciallink:hover, #myspeciallink:active {
  text-decoration: underline;
}

Or have I misunderstood what you want?

That would be my solution as well.

The latter is how I’ve done it on a number of WordPress, MediaWiki and HTML5 pages.

With very little code, you can have a row of links all highlight in different colors, or the like. It’s a fun technique.

Thanks for the reply.