Dang, I think I have to support offshore drilling in California

Having lived through the various oil spills in California over the years and the subsequent hiatus in new offshore drilling, and having been an engineer for big oil in both Saudi Arabia and arctic Alaska, I feel well acquainted with the ins and outs of risk on the issue of opening our shores to additional development.

And as a California resident I have been a staunch opponent of efforts to restart exploration on our shores.

But I think I need to change my position, for ethical reasons. My desire to protect my coastline, unless I work vigorously to get Californians out of their cars, is really NIMBYism at it’s worst. “Please don’t pollute our coasts, but please do continue to pollute others and while you’re at it please be as inefficient as possible about bringing petrol to us. See if you can bring it from half way round the world, that would be fine.”

I hate this, but it makes far more sense for us to extract and refine our fuel locally. Doesn’t it?

Oil, as you know is a commodity. A replaceable commodity. Our coastline is not replaceable. Oil spills and spoiled views. And drilling off California will not lower your gas prices even one percent. Just drive less.

Well the politicians agree with you because they let the ban on offshore drilling expire last month.

You’re telling me that the coastlines of the Saudi’s are replaceable? Drive less is correct, but whatever driving we do seems to me to be best done on our own oil.

Correct?

With that logic we should just shut down all oil production.

The thing is, at this point we don’t give a fuck about the Saudi’s coastline. We have stepped over the “I’m All Right, Jack,” boundary.

Not to mention that the Saudi regime has little choice but to continue to pump oil…their entire economy is based around it. The USA’s isn’t.