Database design questions.

I’m a member of a database message board, and i may ask this question there later, but i know people here better, and i know there are people here with database experience, so i thought i’d give the Dope a try first.

I’m putting together a little database of websites related to history (which is my field of study and teaching). In particular, i’m focusing on sites that have primary sources in history (documents, letters, manuscripts, video, audio, etc.). I would like this database to be searchable in a variety of ways, using a variety of different categories.

I may come back later with questions about how to implement the more complex stuff, but right now i want to start with more basic questions of setting up the tables, and of organizing the data properly.

So, first of all, the table containing the websites themselves will look something like this:

Sites

SiteID
SiteName
SiteURL
SiteHost
StartYear
EndYear

I’m not an expert, but it seems to me that this conforms with the ideals of 1NF. (ETA: actually, SiteHost should probably be moved off to a table by itself, because a particular university or company might host more than 1 site)

The SiteID will be an autoincrement, and will also be the Primary Key for the table. I could, theoretically, make the URL the PK (as URLs are unique), but the length and complexity of some URLs would make that too messy, i think.

The StartYear and EndYear functions will contain the range of dates covered by each website. So, for example, a site that covers the Great Depression, New Deal and recovery might have StartYear=1929 and EndYear=1945. I figure that this will make it easy for the user (me) to search for sites within a particular date range.

Anyway, in addition to the main table, i want to have other tables that break each site into categories for classification and searching. Categories i would like to have include:
[ul]