Dating a recovering alcoholic (me)

I"ve just recently passed my 9th month of sobriety without any type of a relationship with a woman. This has been self-imposed mainly because I’ve just wanted to concentrate on getting my shit together. Originally I wanted to make the 1 year mark before getting back into the dating game but I’m … um, missing female companionship. And plus I feel confident enough in my sobriety to add another variable to my life now.

A few questions before I take the online plunge:

I want to be completely honest when filling out my profile, warts and all. Is mentioning being an alcoholic a bad idea? How about being divorced twice due at least in part to said drinking?

A few facts about me: I’m 46 and own my own home. I’ve been working for the same company for 19 years ( somehow I managed to keep my job ). I have one daughter who is a sophomore in college and doing well. ( she told me recently that she likes me a lot better now). :frowning: I’m working on my relationship with her also.

In short life is pretty darn good for me right now and some of these facts would probably look good to a potential girlfriend.
So am I going to seriously limit potential mates by stating right off that I’m an recovering alcoholic or should I omit that little detail and bring it up later after she inevitably falls for my devastating good looks and awesome personality?

Mmm. I won’t lie and say it isn’t a factor.

Frankly, if it were in the profile, I wouldn’t respond. But if I found out later, I’d be a little pissed. So personally, I’d tell you to tell them in the first few (not first, not tenth) e-mails.

I don’t know that you need to shove it in their faces to start with. It is a factor, but no more so than if you had had herpes (for example).

I wouldn’t hide it, but I can’t see any positives about advertising it either.