Granted this was 10 years ago, but doing the same thing with my temporary Georgia deal-name-only plate with not so much as a window sticker, I didn’t have problems in either Florida or South Carolina (South Carolina does the same thing as Georgia, so maybe they’re used to it).
I’m sure cops had gotten behind me a few times with those tags.
Just so everybody knows. “Dealer plates” in Georgia are pieces of cardboard printed for the dealer with their logo on it. Near the bottom in a blank spot or on a piece of white tape is written the expiration date in hand. No id #, not even “Georgia” written on it.
Not one single thing produced by the State is involved. No window stickers, no decals, no prison shop metal.
Obviously one can just put a new piece of white tape over the old, write a new date and keep on going until the cardboard falls apart in the humidity. Then get a new one from a buddy or have one printed up yourself. Works until you get stopped for something else.
Florida is probably used to it. But I think a west cost cop would have you over in a flash.
(There are “real” dealer plates in Georgia. I see them once in a great while.)
This has recently been changed. Now, when you buy a car in Georgia, the dealer is required to issue a 30-day temporary paper tag showing a date that is 30 days from the day the car was sold. I know of people who drove around for a year with one of those “tag applied for” paper tags. Enough people complained and the law was changed.