Dealing withg a co-worker who impugns your professional competence

I’m so fed up I feel like putting this in the Pit, but I’m not very good at swearing,and besides, I’d like to hear from people who’ve been in my situation, which makes it kind of like a poll.

First, some preliminary spade work will be necessary.

I work as a developer in an Oracle shop. This co-worker, let’s call her Jan, is the DBA who administers the database where most of my code runs, and the corresponding development/test database where I write and develop my code. In Oracle we have what are called links, which essentially are windows between one database and another. If you’re logged into one database, and have privilege to the link, you can retrieve and sometimes modify or insert data in the other database. A link may also involve a “gateway”, if the remote db is on another machine.

Last week I complained that I was unable to log on to the dev database due, apparently, to some hardware issue on the machine from which I was trying to access the database. “Jan” ends up calling me a “loon” and insisting that I was using the wrong password, which theory she then broadcasts via email to quite a large distribution list. I was not using the wrong password. In fact, the original error message, which I’d included in my original trouble report, didn’t say anything that could even remotely suggest that it had anything to do with passwords.

Then yesterday one of my routine weekly procedures, which hadn’t been changed in years, failed due to problems with the link to a remote database. I notified everybody I thought needed to know, and sure enough a call comes in from Jan.

“Hello, this is Javaman”.

“This is Jan. What have you done now?”

“What do you mean, what have I done now?”

“You changed the link. It was your procedure”, referring to another procedure I had had to write to push data from my database to this same remote database.