Death Money

So an elderly relative was diagnosed with a terminal disease a couple months ago (sad emoticon seems a little trite). In trying to cope with whats happening to them, they’ve apparently decided to start sending sizable chunks of money to my brother and I, every month. It has nothing to do with an inheritance, per say, but rather just something she wants to do.

for a little more background: i’m currently living in a nice apartment in a rather exclusive quartier of Paris. I’m a full-time student and my immediate family provides for all my needs from clothing to new furniture to vacations.

so now i’m about to start accumulating this totally unexpected ‘death money’ and i don’t know what to think (other than to be genuinely depressed) except that anything remotely superficial I might buy with this money will end up gnawing at me for the foreseeable future. At the same time, I kinda get the impression that the intention behind the gesture is to actively do what she can to cause us to be a little be happier than otherwise might be the case.

One last side-note: for what its worth, I started a charity for at-risk kids a few years ago and have managed to grow it into a reasonably strong productive little organization which has a measurable impact on the community with which we work. It has, of course, occurred to me to put this money into that project but that idea feels just as hollow, meaningless and perhaps even just as selfish as anything else that has occurred to me.

so if anyone happens to have ideas for healthy choices for my ‘soul’ i’m very open to ideas. the challenge is, to find a positive use (I think just letting the money accumulate would be hurtful) that also satisfies whatever desire my dying relative may have had in making this peculiar (or perhaps this isn’t so uncommon?) gesture.