Definitive book refuting creationism

I have a degree in evolutionary biology, and I enjoy the occasional debate against creationists. I am looking for the definitive book against creationist arguments – hopefully accurate, entertaining, and informative. Stephen Jay Gould, in his book An Urchin in the Storm, calls Philip Kitcher’s Abusing Science “the best book on creationism.” However, it’s been more than twenty years since Gould said this.

What is best, most entertaining book making the scientific argument against creationism? Is this Kitcher book any good, or is there something newer?

I found Dawkins’s

I found Dawkins’s “The Extended Phenotype” to be pretty straightforward and irrefutable: I remember wishing I could find a way to get a creationist to actually read it.

I have read Kitcher’s Abusing Science and it is excellent. I have seen most of the arguments refuted by Kitcher used by creationist visitors to these boards, so it may well be that creationism has not advanced very far in the intervening period. As a bonus, the book has a very interesting discussion of the philosophy of science.

Yeah, it may; wonder what creationism’s next “advance” will be?

irony adj containing iron

Also, Dawkin’s Climbing Mount Improbable

Yeah, I’ve read all of Dawkins’ stuff, and it’s absolutely excellent – I’d highly recommend it to anyone who hasn’t read it. Sounds like I may need to check out this Kitcher book.

Finding the book isn’t the problem; it’s getting Creationists to read it.

One cannot ‘refute’ creationism because it’s a closed system of thought. It is not amenable to rational argument because it doesn’t proceed from rational argument. As GB Shaw put it, “You cannot rationally argue out what wasn’t rationally argued in.”