Diagnose this car problem

A few months ago the “check engine” light came on in my Infiniti I30. I took it in and they said the catalytic converter was triggering the light, and that meant it was probably an oxygen sensor. However, they said that all the oxygen sensors seemed to be working fine when they checked, so they recommended I watch my gas mileage closely but not start replacing senors until they could figure out exactly what was going on. They said they would keep checking it when I bring it back for oil changes.

So I’ve been driving around for a few months with the “check engine” light on, and have not noticed any change in mileage.

Last week I drove to Colorado Springs, which is about 6500 feet above sea level. The first time I started the car after arriving I noticed that the check engine light was not on. I drove all over Colorado for a week and the light never came on. Then, when I was driving home, the light came on again in Kansas and has stayed on ever since. What do you think?

Sounds like a gas cap issue.

The gas cap usually allows for a bit of a vacuum in the gas tank, but if it’s leaky that lower air pressure never happens. When you are in the mountains, the lower air pressure could make your gas cap seem to be working properly.

Get a new gas cap.

The error code stored in the computer should indicate where the problem is. A couple of years ago my car had a cracked evap cannister; the code indicated a leak somewhere in the fuel system (it does a vac check every time you start the engine), and it took a quick look by a tech to confirm exactly where the problem was.

I won’t hazard a guess as to why altitude affects the OP’s vehicle performance, but if the error code on the OP’s car is indicating trouble with the exhaust O2 content, it’s safe to say the problem is not going to be a vacuum leak in the fuel system.

This is far too much trust in a computer/human interface.